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Montgomery County, Virginia –
Feb. 15 – the start of spring fire season in Virginia. This law prohibits burning before 4 p.m. each 
day (Feb. 15 – April 30) if the fire is in, or with
containing dry grass or other flammable materials.
 
A violation of this law is a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by up to a $500 fine. In addition to 
the criminal violation, those who allow a fire to escape are liable for the cost of suppressing the
fire as well as any damage caused to others’ property.
 
“I think the greatest concern at this point is, regardless of recent rain and limited snowfall, we are 
significantly dry throughout the C
Coordinator Neal Turner. “The smallest of fires 
off their garden spots – can cause a major fire if not carefully monitored.”
 
Turner advises those living near wooded areas or adjacent to woods to use extra caution when 
burning and be vigilant. 
 
If you have any questions regarding when and where to burn, or need advice on a burn 
situation, contact your local fire department or Turner at 394
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MontgomeryCountyVA.gov               Feb. 13

– The Commonwealth’s 4 p.m. Burning Law goes into effect 
the start of spring fire season in Virginia. This law prohibits burning before 4 p.m. each 

April 30) if the fire is in, or within, 300 feet of woodland, brushland or
containing dry grass or other flammable materials. 

A violation of this law is a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by up to a $500 fine. In addition to 
the criminal violation, those who allow a fire to escape are liable for the cost of suppressing the
fire as well as any damage caused to others’ property. 

“I think the greatest concern at this point is, regardless of recent rain and limited snowfall, we are 
gnificantly dry throughout the County,” said Montgomery County Emergency Services 

Neal Turner. “The smallest of fires – and that does include those preparing to burn 
can cause a major fire if not carefully monitored.” 

Turner advises those living near wooded areas or adjacent to woods to use extra caution when 

If you have any questions regarding when and where to burn, or need advice on a burn 
situation, contact your local fire department or Turner at 394-2146, ext. 4158. 
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