Clerk of the Circuit Court

Civil Division

The Civil Division creates and maintains files for active lawsuits, preserves records for ended suits and provides general support for these cases.

Initiating Suits

The Circuit Court has exclusive jurisdiction in cases involving amounts of $15,000 and higher. It shares jurisdiction with the General District Court in cases with amounts between $4,500 and $14,999. For cases with amounts below $4,500, the case is within the jurisdiction of the General District Court.

Policy for Providing Information to the Public

This policy defines the information that Circuit Court Clerk's Office employees can offer to the public. Its purpose is to ensure that the ethical and legal guidelines - as established by:

  • the Code of Virginia, 1950, as amended;
  • the Supreme Court of Virginia; and
  • the Virginia State Bar

on the authorized practice of law - are not violated.

  • Clerk's Office staff are NOT attorneys and are NOT to give legal advice.
  • Under Virginia law, ONLY a licensed attorney may provide legal advice.
  • Clerk's Office staff may NOT give "how to" information (i.e., fill out legal forms).
  • Clerk's Office staff may ONLY give general procedural information (i.e., filing fees, service fees).
UNREPRESENTED LITIGANTS ARE ADVISED TO CONSULT WITH A LICENSED, PRACTICING ATTORNEY.

Concealed Handgun Permit

  • Complete an SP-248 Concealed Handgun Permit Application. Click here for the application.
  • Please have your signature notarized, or bring your unsigned application for the Clerk to witness your signature.
  • Provide the Clerk with proof of your competence with a firearm. Forms of acceptable proof are:
    • previous Concealed Handgun Permit
    • certificate of completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course
    • completion of any National Rifle Association (NRA) firearms safety or training course
    • completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course
    • proof of current enrollment in the Armed Forces of the United States
    • DD-214 form (Military Discharge form)
    • ask the Clerk if you have a document that you think may be acceptable for proof and is not listed above
  • Present your valid Virginia Driver's License at the time of application.
  • The current filing fee is $15.

Civil Complaints

Filing fees

Filing fees are assessed on the suit amount. Please click here for the civil filing fee calculator. Acceptable forms of payment include cash, check and money order. We do accept VISA and MasterCard, debit and credit cards, however, we charge a 3 percent convenience fee.

Service

  • by the Sheriff:
    • Clerk must be provided with a copy of the service document
    • $12 per person per document
  • by the Secretary of the Commonwealth:
    • Please click here for Secretary of the Commonwealth requirements.
  • by the DMV
    • Same as service on the Secretary of Commonwealth
    • Make check payable to Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)

Case Status

Case status and information pertaining to civil filings are available to the public by clicking here.

Judges and Hearings

Once a civil case is filed, please contact the Clerk's office regarding assignment to a specific judge.

If you are seeking information regarding a criminal case, please follow the links to the Criminal Division or click here to navigate directly to the proper site.

 

Divorces

The filing fee is $84, plus any services. Forms are not available or provided by the Clerk's Office. Please see "Policy for Providing Information to the Public" near the top of this page.
  • Click here for the local rules of the Court
  • Click here for information on local pretrial guidelines
  • Click here for information on children of divorce seminar
  • Click here for information on referral to mediation
 

Petitions

Name Change

Restoration of Driving Privileges

Other forms and services

If you cannot find the form you are looking for on our website, please check the Supreme Court's website by clicking here.